Highly Liquid Forum facebook twitter google plus rss feed

Go Back   Highly Liquid Forum > Discontinued Products > UMR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2009, 08:38 PM
wisteria wisteria is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Realistic Concertmate 680 missing high octave

hay there, I've got 2 kits... the first I put in my casio CTK 120 and it works perfect. The second keyboard though, I've put in a mildly modified Realistic Concertmate 680 has a slight problem. Only 36 of it's 49 notes are controllable via midi. Select lines 7, 8, and 9 are not triggering the top 13 high notes for some reason. I was able to trigger the same high notes though, via midi, by switching the the wires around and using select lines 1-6. The crystal in the keyboard is a 16 (Mhz ?) and is not the original (lost). I do like it cause it's tuned about a quarter note in between the casio (same sound font, so I can maybe do a 24 tone thing with them). I did experiment with several crystals to see if that would affect the midi function, nothing helped, although the 10 mhz one that I started out with actually made the select lines 7-9 put out bad signals that were obviously different from select lines 1-6 when observed with a data probe.

Speed switch and "first midi note" adjustment and have been tried several different ways. I've only used midi channel 1 for testing. Also, I checked the board extensively for soldering problems and such, and I also swapped the ROM from the other working keyboard, so I know that's fine cause they acted the same.

I noticed you had a Realistic Concertmate's 500 and 650 listed on the discontinued SKM kit and I was wondering if there was a different setting or a jumper or something to add to Realistics? I suppose I could just slide all my select lines over by 2, put a DPDT switch to switch back and forth between the bass octaves and pretty much have it, since I'm also working up a midi controlled relay project anyways, I could get the extra notes using that, unless you've got a better way?

thanks- Eric
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2009, 05:17 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

Hi Eric,

It sounds like the 680's select sequence & speed are causing the problem. There probably is not a workaround for this--it is likely a result of the UMR's select polling implementation (data injection is a little slower for some select lines than others).

Perhaps a future UMR revision will allow further adjustments that might solve this type of problem. Sorry for not having a better answer for you.

If you ever have a chance to post the connections for the CTK-120, I'm sure there are other users out there that would be grateful.

John
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2009, 01:42 AM
wisteria wisteria is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Realistic Concertmate 680 configuration

and also..

Realistic Concertmate 680

scan-high configuration

i/o connections

note: (*) = these select lines may or may not be functional

umr select in (1st #) - Host ribbon cable (2nd #)

1 - 1
2 - 2
3 - 3
4 - 4
5 - 11
6 - 12
7 - 13 (*)
8 - 14 (*)
9 - 15 (*)
A - None
B - None

umr data (1st #) - Host ribbon cable (2nd #)
1 - 10
2 - 9
3 - 8
4 - 5
5 - 6
6 - 7

Dip switch 1 setting 5 on ,6 off, 7 on, 8 ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.