Highly Liquid Forum facebook twitter google plus rss feed
  #1  
Old 12-15-2015, 06:42 PM
fernando fernando is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Default 24 footswitched CC's and 2 Midi CPU's

Hello all, I've been checking out this site and some of the cool projects I’ve found and now have a prototype design for my needs. I have read and reread the documentation and many of the posts that have designs similar to mine, so hopefully everything is pretty close to correct. Hopefully….lol.

I have not yet bought any of the items needed, so I cannot test any of the code corrections, if any. Just need confirmation that this design is feasible and that I understand how to program the sysex code. Fyi, some of the sysex code is “real” and some are “fake”, since I don't have those devices yet and I'm not really sure how I would want to use them in my setup, so I've created imaginary “CC” functions assigned to them just as an exercise to practice the coding.

In this mockup, I have incorporated future expansion options since it is for my guitar rack and GAS (gear acquisition syndrome) is always something to keep in mind, lol! Prior foot controllers have never really served my needs and have become “small” pretty fast, lack of CC's, etc… I will have an “off-the-shelf” midi foot controller for my “banks” with “presets” containing “PC” and “CC” changes that get sent in bulk. The design below is for the individual “stomp-box” “CC's” that I need so I can get “granular” control of my devices and sounds.

Please check out my specs and post any corrections or comments… thank you!

No layers or banks.

24 “on/off CC's”, on different midi channels, and 4 or 5 Continuous Controller pedals, also on different midi channels.

Using 2 Midi CPU's

Initially 15 on/off CC's foot-switches spread out across the two Midi CPU's. Possibly 24 in future expansion. So basically 12 control terminals used on each MidiCPU for “CC's”. If 12 is not doable, please indicate the max I could have in this design for each Midi CPU.

3 Expression pedals spread out across the two Midi CPU's, 4 or 5 in the future, for “CC” pedals.

In view of future expansion and to make it easier for me to program and wire up this design as an ongoing project, I have decided to connect the LED's directly to the SPST switches as mention by John in the forum.

So, for each Midi CPU there would eventually be 12 LED's directly connected to SPST switches plus the Power and activity LED's, for a total of 14 X 3ma led = 42ma (1.2 kilo-ohm, 1/8 watts resistor) or 14 X 4ma led = 56ma (820 ohm, 1/8 watts resistor). This should be more than enough since I would not have all 14 LED's lit at one time, and also allows for increasing the “ma”, as shown, so I can increase the brightness if necessary.

If this design is workable, I will probably construct the Pedal board with all switches, LED's and CV pedal connections already in place, soldered up and ready to go, to avoid having to do it again down the road. I just will not have the programming in the MidiCPU for those Control Terminals that are not needed. Is this ok to do? Could I also Program the unused control terminals with “0”'s (zeros)?

So here is the Code that I have come up with, cannibalized from other projects. I first show the code with the “devices/effects parameter comments” that the code pertains to, then I show the code for each MidiCPU in the proper format, with headers, etc. Diagrams for the wiring schema follow.

MidiCPU #1 Global Midi Ch 14

Mini amp gizmo midi ch 4
Position 0 - CC#56 – Ch1/Ch2
Position 1 - CC#57 - EQ
Position 2 - CC#58 – Solo1
Position 3 - CC#59 – Solo2

00 00 4C 04 38 7F
00 01 4C 04 00 00
01 00 4C 04 39 7F
01 01 4C 04 00 00
02 00 4C 04 3A 7F
02 01 4C 04 00 00
03 00 4C 04 3B 7F
03 01 4C 04 00 00

GCX midi ch 16
Position 4 - CC#80 - Loop1 - Chorus
Position 5 - CC#83 – Loop4 – Clean to Delay/Reverb - Right
Position 6 - CC#84 – Loop5 – Clean to Delay/Reverb - Left
Position 7 - CC#85 – Loop6 - Comp
Position 8 - CC#86 – Loop7 - Volcano

04 00 4C 10 50 7F
04 01 4C 10 00 00
05 00 4C 10 53 7F
05 01 4C 10 00 00
06 00 4C 10 54 7F
06 01 4C 10 00 00
07 00 4C 10 55 7F
07 01 4C 10 00 00
08 00 4C 10 56 7F
08 01 4C 10 00 00

Rack Delay midi ch 1
Position 9 - CC#80 – Tap Tempo
Position 10 - CC#81 - Bypass

09 00 4C 01 50 7F
09 01 4C 01 00 00
0A 00 4C 01 51 7F
0A 01 4C 01 00 00


Rack Reverb midi ch 2
Position 11 - CC#81 - Bypass
0B 00 4C 02 51 7F
0B 01 4C 02 00 00

Expression Pedals midi ch 1
Position 22 – Midi CH1 - CC#13 – Delay Mix
Position 23 – Midi CH1 - CC#17 – Delay Feedback

16 00 04 01 0D 0F
17 00 04 01 11 0D

MidiCPU #2 Global Midi Ch 15

Volcano midi ch 3
Position 0 - CC#32
00 00 4C 03 20 7F
00 01 4C 03 00 00

Cubase midi ch 5
Position 1 - CC#33 – Start
Position 2 – CC#34 – Stop

01 00 4C 05 21 7F
01 01 4C 05 00 00
02 00 4C 05 22 7F
02 01 4C 05 00 00

Future Expansion

Position 3 - CC#
Position 4 – CC#
Position 5 – CC#
Position 6 – CC#
Position 7 – CC#
Position 8 – CC#
Position 9 – CC#
Position 10 – CC#
Position 11 – CC#

Expression Pedal midi ch 2
Position 22 – Midi CH2 - CC#13 – Reverb Mix

16 00 04 02 0D 0F






Complete Code Midi CPU #1 Global Midi Ch 14
F0 00 01 5D 04 01
00
00 00 4C 04 38 7F
00 01 4C 04 00 00
01 00 4C 04 39 7F
01 01 4C 04 00 00
02 00 4C 04 3A 7F
02 01 4C 04 00 00
03 00 4C 04 3B 7F
03 01 4C 04 00 00
04 00 4C 10 50 7F
04 01 4C 10 00 00
05 00 4C 10 53 7F
05 01 4C 10 00 00
06 00 4C 10 54 7F
06 01 4C 10 00 00
07 00 4C 10 55 7F
07 01 4C 10 00 00
08 00 4C 10 56 7F
08 01 4C 10 00 00
09 00 4C 01 50 7F
09 01 4C 01 00 00
0A 00 4C 01 51 7F
0A 01 4C 01 00 00
0B 00 4C 02 51 7F
0B 01 4C 02 00 00
16 00 04 01 0D 0F
17 00 04 01 11 0D
F7


Complete Code Midi CPU #2 Global Midi Ch 15
F0 00 01 5D 04 01
00
00 00 4C 03 20 7F
00 01 4C 03 00 00
01 00 4C 05 21 7F
01 01 4C 05 00 00
02 00 4C 05 22 7F
02 01 4C 05 00 00
16 00 04 02 0D 0F
F7

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

Thanks for reading and thank you in advance for your help and the prior posters who I've stolen from!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2015, 11:11 AM
Synthetech's Avatar
Synthetech Synthetech is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 711
Default

Hi Fernando,

Sorry for the late reply..

I can try to take a closer look at your project over my Christmas break.

Unused terminals can be coded with Mode 7F and all 0's
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2015, 03:03 AM
fernando fernando is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Default

No worries, thank you! and thanks for the coding tip! Still planning things so there is no rush... I have found an enclosure that fits my needs just about perfectly... here is the pdf to share in case other users need something similar...

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

the CF45-28GS that i am looking at is about 60 to 80 us dollars since I cannot get it directly here in the us, i'll have to order from japan directly or an eu country and probably pay customs, but it is very high quality and i've so far not found a US side supplier that offers an off the shelf size similar. i may price a one-off from a metal fabricator, but my gut feeling is that it will be higher in price.... peace...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2016, 02:58 AM
Synthetech's Avatar
Synthetech Synthetech is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 711
Default

Hi,

apologies for the delay in getting back on this.

I do see errors for your expression pedals.


It should be like this

Expression Pedals midi ch 1
Position 22 – Midi CH1 - CC#13 – Delay Mix
Position 23 – Midi CH1 - CC#17 – Delay Feedback

16 00 04 01 0D 09
17 00 04 01 11 0A

in the table,
3.4.3 Analog Input: Control Change (CC)
it mentions...
Data register address for CC value

for that you need to go back and check the chart at...
Table 2.2.2-a: Analog Input Data Registers

there you will see each CT next to each register you must use.
For CT 22 you must use register 09h
and 23 uses 0Ah
(that chart really needs to be copied to that Analog Input section so you can see it right away and understand what it means when it asks for "Data register address" I put a suggestion in to do so for any future editions of the manual.)

your 2nd CPU also has the same error.


the rest looks like it will work OK. Give it a try and if you have issues, we can see what it will take to get it all working right.
I would suggest you do the controls and code in sections.. like the groups you have outlined.
One group at a time, code in, wire up, test. Verify working, THEN move on to the next group.
Get all the switches working first, then do the Expression pedals last.
this will help keep you from getting buried in code that could have errors that cause chaos all over the controls..

good luck!

Last edited by Synthetech; 01-08-2016 at 03:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2016, 03:52 AM
fernando fernando is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you for doing the proofread! I'm sourcing the parts that I need so hopefully I'll soon have everything I need to get starting putting this together. I'll update once things get rolling. Thanks again!! peace....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.