Highly Liquid Forum facebook twitter google plus rss feed

Go Back   Highly Liquid Forum > Current Products > MIDI CPU

Old 03-31-2015, 09:57 AM

Default Advice needed on pedal board programming

I am converting an 18 note pedalboard to MIDI and have bought a MIDI CPU to do it. I am happy about the connection of the pedal switches but would like to add program change, if possible.

Ideally I would like to add to footswitches, one for change up and one for change down, so that pressing the up button sends the next program change number up and vice versa. I would like to add a couple of 7 segment LEDs to display the current program number. Is this possible?

I have read the hardware and software manuals but seem to be lacking something. I don't quite see how the data registers are used, or if they can be incremented or decremented. I am an electronics engineer and very used to programming in 'C' but I cannot quite get my head around this

Just need a pointer in the right direction please.

Richard
Old 04-01-2015, 07:14 PM

Hi Richard,

your switches for PC will have to be two part.

One to send a PC using a fixed number, like 1 and a data register.. lets say 11h

we will start 11h at 0.
So first press up or down will be PC 00h+00h= 00h

If we went up, we then need to do the operation Increment to 11h.. usually when we release the switch

see
3.2.22 Logic Input Trigger: Data Register: Increment

in the manual

d0 is the register, 11h in this example and d1 would be 01h to add "1".

we also use
3.2.23 Logic Input Trigger: Data Register: Decrement

to reverse/lower the PC number.

we can indicate 11h's value on two 7 seg. LED's, anything above 99 will flip over and show 00, 01 02...27 since we dont have a hundreds digit.

the data registers are listed in the beginning of the manual.
multipurpose registers are 11h, 12h, 13h... on up to 1Ch