Highly Liquid Forum facebook twitter google plus rss feed
  #1  
Old 04-20-2012, 05:29 PM
crippone crippone is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default silent piano --> MIDI ?

Hi all,
I'm a pianist and i'd like to know if someone can help me with a MIDI issue.
I have a "Yamaha B1 silent" upright piano.When the central pedal is pressed the hammers are far away from strings so there is no acoustic sound.
Inside the acoustic upright piano there are optical sensors.
the signal (i don't know if it's analog or digital) coming from the sensors goes to an external box named "SD". this external box generates a piano sound and sends it only to headphones output (2 jacks).
there is no other output connection.
the only thing i can tell you is that the ac-dc adaptor is 12V 1.5A.
is it possible to "create" a midi port in order to connect an expander?
if necessary i can show some snapshots inside the SD box

many thanks
C
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2012, 04:37 AM
Jim McDougall Jim McDougall is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 395
Default

Depends what is in the box -- a picture might give us some idea. Odds are that it is a CPU and a set of ROM's sounds. In that case it is virtually impossible to tap in a midi output. The only solution would be to tap into the sensor system and feed that to a midiCPU
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2012, 09:36 AM
crippone crippone is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McDougall View Post
Depends what is in the box -- a picture might give us some idea. Odds are that it is a CPU and a set of ROM's sounds. In that case it is virtually impossible to tap in a midi output. The only solution would be to tap into the sensor system and feed that to a midiCPU

Hi,
here you can find some pictures. thank you very much for the support!

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/74941114/SD_box.pptx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-24-2012, 06:52 PM
Jim McDougall Jim McDougall is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 395
Default

Sorry for delay -- had to access the pictures from my work laptop as I don;t have powerpoint on my home machine. As I suspected it is a highly integrated setup with custom integrated ICs. It might be possible to tap into the logic but would require the schematics of the boards. I could not find these on the web (no surprise there).

The only way to tell is to get the schematics. You might be able to get these from yamaha parts in a service manual. Their number is 888-892-6242
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2012, 03:01 PM
crippone crippone is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default

i've already tried but they didn't give me the schematics.
i'm afraid i have to surrender...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2012, 10:37 PM
Jim McDougall Jim McDougall is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 395
Default

Bummer ! It's so annoying when companies won't supply complete documentation even when you are willing to pay for it !
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2012, 04:56 PM
crippone crippone is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Default

the most "funny" thing is that a midi box exists!!! but it's equipped on most expensive pianos. i said: ok can i buy it? no, if i want the midi box i shuold buy the most expensive piano...i couldn't believe my ears.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.