Highly Liquid Forum facebook twitter google plus rss feed

Go Back   Highly Liquid Forum > Current Products > MIDI CPU

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-05-2013, 03:11 PM
Hackemoff Hackemoff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default Monophonic MIDI output

Please see my feature request in my last post of this thread:

http://forum.highlyliquid.com/showpo...7&postcount=10
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-10-2013, 03:17 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hackemoff View Post
Please see my feature request in my last post of this thread:

http://forum.highlyliquid.com/showpo...7&postcount=10
I have recorded this as a request for "switch matrix select" control terminal modes with monophonic note output, perhaps with selectable high- or low-note priority.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-11-2013, 09:43 AM
Hackemoff Hackemoff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John View Post
I have recorded this as a request for "switch matrix select" control terminal modes with monophonic note output, perhaps with selectable high- or low-note priority.
Excellent! But it has to be at least two different priorities ("low/high", or "first/last") to solve my problems.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-26-2013, 09:03 AM
Starfish Starfish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Matrixed switches can change matrixed LED output states? Don't know if this one got in but it could be really helpful to get the maximum switches and LED's on the board
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-30-2013, 12:47 AM
bigtim bigtim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Hi John, just checking in to see if you have had any more thoughts on the indirect adressing idea?

Busy building a couple of effects pedals at the moment and hope to get back to my foot controller in the next couple of weeks. If the indirect addressing thing is not really going to be easy to implement like I say its no big problem, just thought I would check before I start drilling lots of holes
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-30-2013, 02:44 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starfish View Post
Matrixed switches can change matrixed LED output states? Don't know if this one got in but it could be really helpful to get the maximum switches and LED's on the board
Would this idea do what you needed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John View Post
I think there should be some new data registers that store the most recent program number generated by a matrixed switch. This would provide a simple mechanism to control indicator LED states using matrixed swtiches. Perhaps there could be additional data registers for the last CC message (CC # and value).
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-30-2013, 02:47 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigtim View Post
Hi John, just checking in to see if you have had any more thoughts on the indirect adressing idea?

Busy building a couple of effects pedals at the moment and hope to get back to my foot controller in the next couple of weeks. If the indirect addressing thing is not really going to be easy to implement like I say its no big problem, just thought I would check before I start drilling lots of holes
Yes, I'm thinking that register 29h will be used exclusively for indirect addressing. I see if I can get another update posted soon.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-30-2013, 05:05 PM
bigtim bigtim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Cool, I will hold off on the drilling
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-03-2013, 08:54 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

I will be revisiting the idea of having the MIDI CPU respond to incoming MIDI messages. If it happens, it will be very rudimentary, like a new register that contains the "most recent program # received" at the MIDI CPU MIDI In.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-17-2013, 01:19 PM
bigtim bigtim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Default

John, the idea of the midi cpu responding to some midi input messages would be perfect for my modified project.

If I could send a cc (or pc) from my DAW to the midi cpu, and have the midi cpu remember this message in a register (which I can then display on a set of 7 segment leds) and at the same time pass it on to an MSA to change the programme, then that would be perfect (and answers the question I think I just asked in my midi cpu project thread.)
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 06-24-2013, 04:59 PM
ZiLaihong ZiLaihong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 38
Default

1) inversing of analog inputs. Which means GND is 127 and Vreg is 0;
2) response curve of analog inputs;
3) different ADC threshold for different CT;

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06-25-2013, 07:42 PM
bigtim bigtim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Hi John, do you have any news on the firmware update? Still very interested in the indirect addressing and the midi cpu responding to basic midi in messages

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07-15-2013, 11:55 AM
Jim U Jim U is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Hi John,
I am very new to this so maybe I'm off base. But I understand that MIDI CPU does not pass SYSEX. You have many options that allow dynamic changes through SYSEX and most of my future application require chains of MIDI CPUs and MD24. How about a global option to pass at least certain SYSEX messages?
Jim U
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 07-16-2013, 08:32 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default 1.4 beta 4 posted.

The latest update, 1.4 beta 4 is now available, along with a new version of the manual:

http://forum.highlyliquid.com/showthread.php?t=935

You will save yourself some headaches if you reset the MIDI CPU data register config immediately after upgrading. Here is a sysex message to accomplish this. (This is also described in step #10 of the upgrade procedure in the new firmware user manual.)

http://support.codeandcopper.com/hl/...onfig-Init.syx

In this update:
  • Indirect addressing of MIDI CPU data registers. This is explained in section 2.2.5 of the 1.4 firmware user manual.
  • Added registers 21h-25h that allow an LED matrix to show information in response to input from matrixed switches (or any other input type). See section 2.2.3 of the 1.4 firmware user manaul.

Last edited by John; 07-16-2013 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-17-2013, 10:05 AM
bigtim bigtim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Default indirect addressing

Hi John, and thank you for the IA update, I have read the updated manual and just wanted to check I have understood things correctly

So my sceranio, I have three data registers (11h,12h,13h) that contain cc numbers that I will use to in response to three analogue control terminals (from expression pedals)

I will set up a control terminal to cycle the value in IA register 29h (the pointer register) so min will be 11h max will be 13h. (so that I can update any one of the cc registers individually)

When I want to increment/set the value in the pointed to register, am I correct in assuming that to do this I would write the required value into register 2Ah (the access register) and that this value will ALSO map across to the register that is pointed to?

What I also need to try and do is monitor or visualise what is going on.

To do this I have a one digit 7 segment led which I use to display the hex value in register 29h (this tells me which cc# register I am currently looking at)

I then have a two digit 7 segment display set up which are intended to display the value contained in the cc# register I am pointing to with the pointer register. So in theory I would like these two segments to display the decimal value in the 1s and 10s columns of the access register 2Ah.

So ideally, when I change the value in the pointer register 29h, it would be perfect if the value in the pointed to register automatically was read into the data access register 2Ah, is this what happens? Similarly when I write a value into 2Ah and it is automatically copied into the pointed to register it would be ideal if that same value was also retained in 2Ah (such that it continues to update my display with the correct value.)

I hope this question makes sense, if not I will try and clarify. I think I can see how the update will work perfectly to allow my to set values, I just wanted to check it would simultaneously allow me to read or monitor values indirectly?

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-17-2013, 10:40 AM
bigtim bigtim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Hi again John, sorry to bombard you with questions!

I was thinking around the earlier post and thinking ahead just in case the data access register does not work in the way I was describing.

I was wondering what would happen in this scenario:

If I have the value 12h in the data pointer register, and then I try to do the following would that work:

To read the value in the pointed to register into a buffer register could I perform a Logic Input Trigger: Data Register: Copy Value, where the from register is the data access register and the to register is my buffer register?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-17-2013, 02:24 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

Hi Tim,

I've copied your posts to a new thread:

http://forum.highlyliquid.com/showthread.php?t=1090

Let's continue the conversation there. I'll post my response shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07-17-2013, 02:29 PM
bigtim bigtim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 51
Default

Hi John, no problem. Thanks

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-22-2013, 01:40 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim U View Post
Hi John,
I am very new to this so maybe I'm off base. But I understand that MIDI CPU does not pass SYSEX. You have many options that allow dynamic changes through SYSEX and most of my future application require chains of MIDI CPUs and MD24. How about a global option to pass at least certain SYSEX messages?
Jim U
Hi Jim,

I think this is a reasonable feature request, but it might be tricky to implement. If you are interested in addressing a specific MIDI CPU unit in a chain, it gets problematic, since the MIDI CPU does not have a DIP switch to conveniently set the device ID. (As is already implemented in the MSA product.) So how would any given MIDI CPU "know" whether to accept or ignore a configuration message? (Passing a config message for a different product like the MD24 is easier to handle.)
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07-22-2013, 03:03 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

Another feature that would be nice:

- Allowing more global configuration parameters (like remapping flags) to reside in a register, so that they can be altered during run-time. (Application example: http://forum.highlyliquid.com/showthread.php?t=923 )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.