Highly Liquid Forum facebook twitter google plus rss feed
Old 04-18-2009, 06:16 PM

Default Default Configuration

Hello,
I have assembled an MPA 10k kit and I am in the process of getting it to communicate with my Novation Remote SL 25.
Please bear with me, as I am quite new to the world of midi
I created a new template and associated 4 sliders to CC 0 to 3 in order to control the wipers on each of the 4 pots. I assigned 4 switches as toggle switches to midi notes 0 to 3, as I am using these TTL outputs from the MDA board.
I was able to load the new custom template to the midi controller, but I do not see the board reacting to the specified sliders and buttons. I do however, see that when I move the pitch bend stick on the controller that the "receive" led blinks and voltage is varied on wiper 0. This is promising (at least there is some signs of life). I am wondering if the default config for these boards is as simple as:
wipers = CC 0 to 3
TTL = midi note 0 to 7

It is absolutely possible that I am missing some piece of the puzzle regarding the setup of my custom template, or who knows what.

If anyone has a suggestion as to what to look for, test, etc.. I would truly appreciate it.

Thanks, Mike
Old 04-18-2009, 07:55 PM

Hi Mike,

Thanks for the detailed description.

You'll need to send a SysEx configuration command to the MPA so that it will respond to the midi messages of your choice. Details about using your computer for this purpose are here:

http://forum.highlyliquid.com/showthread.php?t=280

Once you have that set up, you'll want send a SysEx message as follows (my comments preceded by "//"):

// Fixed Header
F0 00 01 5D 01

// Pot 0 (CC 0)
00 02 00
// Pot 1 (CC 1)
00 02 01
// Pot 2 (CC 2)
00 02 02
// Pot 3 (CC 3)
00 02 03

// Logic Output Channel (from dip switch)

// Logic 0 (Note 0)
00 00
// Logic 1 (Note 1)
00 01
// Logic 2 (Note 2)
00 02
// Logic 3 (Note 3)
00 03
// Logic 4 (Note 4)
00 04
// Logic 5 (Note 5)
00 05
// Logic 6 (Note 6)
00 06