Highly Liquid Forum facebook twitter google plus rss feed
  #1  
Old 02-28-2015, 07:04 PM
campbell campbell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Default Roland JX-3P + UMR2

Since the Roland JX-3P receives midi on all channels, and you can't use midi and the PG-200 programmer at the same time, I thought it would be a good candidate for a UMR2. I've begun setting it up, using the post on the Jupiter 8 as a guide: http://forum.highlyliquid.com/showth...hlight=jupiter

I have it installed, it will register the initial Midi channel and lowest note, but the host key presses aren't being recognized. Any clue what I might be doing wrong?

I have CN9 connected to Data and CN8 connected to Select
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-28-2015, 07:15 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

Do you have the UMR2 polarity jumper set?

It's really tough to guess at the problem. Do you have an oscilloscope handy? This is the best way to see what's going on.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-28-2015, 07:49 PM
campbell campbell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Default

I have the polarity jumper set to negative. No oscilloscope I'm afraid
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2015, 09:38 PM
campbell campbell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Default

I may be able to borrow an oscilloscope or multimeter. What should I check? I've installed 3 or 4 UMR2s on various keyboards in the past, so I'm 99% confident its wired up correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-02-2015, 08:45 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by campbell View Post
I may be able to borrow an oscilloscope or multimeter. What should I check? I've installed 3 or 4 UMR2s on various keyboards in the past, so I'm 99% confident its wired up correctly.
You'd want to make sure that the select waveform can be observed at the data line when the appropriate key is pressed.

It might also be worth measuring the width of the select pulse. It's possible that the select pulses are too brief for the UMR2 to read the switch data.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.