Highly Liquid Forum facebook twitter google plus rss feed
Old 02-06-2012, 11:30 PM

Default MSA power supply questions

Hello -

I purchased 4 MSA-Rs (some time ago) that I want to pair-up into 2 project boxes and I have some questions.
I'm new at DIY electronics, so bear with me please.

Here's the hardware manual.

Page 4, if I understand it correctly:
To power the MSA, if nothing's connected to the regulated 5V output, I need a wall wart that's 9VDC and 200mA or greater.
If something is connected to the regulated 5V output, I need a wall wart that's 9VDC and 200mA plus the mA load on the regulated output (or greater).

The regulated output supplies 5V up to 100mA and the MSA needs 9VDC and 200mA (or greater).

So, I assume that means I can't chain the power supplies from the output of one board to the input of the other board (like I can with the MIDI) since there doesn't seem to be enough power coming out of the regulated output to power another MSA?

If you can't chain the power, will it work if (nothing's connected to either regulated output and) I have one wall wart that supplies 9VDC and 400mA (or greater) connected from the +/- output of the wall wart to the +/- power-in of both PCBs?

I guess what I mean is: can I solder 2 wires to the + on the solder side of the power jack, then solder each of those wires to the + in of each board, then solder 2 wires to the - on the solder side of the power jack, then solder each of those wires to the - in of each board without any extra components?

thanks,
Roy
Old 02-08-2012, 11:21 PM

Default Pizza

I like pizza.
Who likes pizza?
Old 02-10-2012, 05:45 AM

Yes you can use a big power supply(500-900 ma +) and feed multiple boards ,,, BUT ,,,,
to be safe, you should :
1) wire from the power supply to each board separately -- not daisey chain from board to board -- accomplished by using a barrier strip
2) Put a fuse in each of + lines to the boards - about 250 - 300 ma to protect each board.