Highly Liquid Forum facebook twitter google plus rss feed
  #1  
Old 11-07-2011, 05:43 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default MIDI control for x0xb0x filter

R. writes:

Quote:
Am I write in thinking I could use this device to control my xoxbox resonance, cutoff and mod values from midi?
I'm not familiar with the internals of the x0xb0x but I think this would work just fine.

Each 3-teminal MPA output corresponds to the 3 terminals of a regular potentiometer. So if the MPA output value matches the regular pots you're replacing, it should work well.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2011, 06:22 PM
Wonderchild Wonderchild is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default

I am sure the xoxbox uses 50k potentiometers, so your device should do the job. Can I wire the device to the base of the potentiometers, or do I need a switch in there to seperate them?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2011, 06:34 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

For correct operation, you'll need a way of disconnecting one for the other.

So, if the potetiometer is used as a variable resistor (only two terminals are connected to the circuit), you could use a DPDT switch to toggle between the manual pot and the digital pot. Does that make sense?

If all three terminals are used by the circuit, it's still possible to make a switching circuit but it's a little more complex. (unless you have a 3PDT switch)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2011, 06:57 PM
Wonderchild Wonderchild is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Yes! this is what I thought. Thanks you for confirming.. I am pretty new to this stuff

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2011, 08:39 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

After a little more thought, I think you can simply use a SPDT switch to substitute a variable resistor, or a DTDT switch to substitute a 3-terminal pot. 3PDT switch not necessary. I can post more info if you'd like.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2011, 12:22 AM
Wonderchild Wonderchild is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default

more info would be amazing, as again, I am new to this stuff and could do with a little re-assurance.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-21-2011, 03:08 PM
John's Avatar
John John is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,007
Default

Here's how to select between two potentiometers using a DPDT switch.

The three terminals at the bottom can be inserted into the circuit where a normal potentiometer would be. "Pot A" could be a normal potentiometer, and "Pot B" could be a digital potentiometer such as an output of the MPA.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.